Winter Wanderings – Philadelphia Museum of Art

The chill of winter may put the breaks on lots of outdoor activities, but there’s still plenty to do during the season. These are just some of the highlights of the places I managed to explore. 

2014-12-28 11.53.27 HDR

One of the great things about living in New York City is that you’re just a mini road trip away from some other great major cities. So, just before ringing in the new year, my husband and I went down to Philadelphia to visit one of our good friends, and I finally got my chance to visit the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Despite traveling down to Philly a number of times, I had never set foot in it. Not for a lack of interest, mind you, but generally due to a lack of time. So I was stoked to get my first peek inside.

It’s really a stunning building – just taking in the exterior is a real treat. The building’s sculptures are so vividly colored. My photo on an overcast day scarcely does it justice.

2014-12-28 11.53.19

The entrance was grand and had a warm glow thanks to the Christmas decorations which were still on display during our visit.

2014-12-28 12.02.402014-12-28 13.08.19

We took in a number of exhibits, including the Medieval Art, Arms and Armor along with a Paul Strand photography exhibit that was on display at the time. We didn’t take very many pictures while we were inside (due primarily to restrictions), but this particular sign caught our eye.

2014-12-28 12.48.14

I believe it says something to the effect of “Enter and be happy.”*

We entered, and we were indeed happy. We’ll definitely be coming back to this museum many times over.

*If you know Latin and this is wrong, feel free to correct me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

