Fun in Fall – Anniversary Weekend in the Hudson Valley

Around last year this time, I got married to the most wonderful man. The backdrop – the ElmRock Inn in Stone Ridge, NY – was the perfect setting for our day. I love looking through our wedding photos and reliving that day over and over again. I think my wedding may be a big reason why I love fall so much 🙂

Nikki and Eugene Wedding Elm Rock Inn-Watermark-0114

We decided to spend our anniversary weekend in the Hudson Valley because, in case you haven’t guessed it already from some of my past posts, I am kind of in love with the area. Here’s a little recap of our time up there.

We started off with a leisurely drive from NYC to Kingston, NY which was once the capital of New York State. After enjoying a pretty awesome meal at The Tappen (which featured some of the best wings I have ever had because of an insanely good blue cheese habanero sauce), we spent the afternoon meandering along the streets and admiring the lovely old homes (especially the stone houses) found in the Stockade District.

We also managed to make it down to the waterfront just in time for sunset. It was one of those scenes where you completely understand why so many artists have chosen (and still choose) to live in an area like Kingston.

Just before dinner, we checked into our room at the Old Stone House B&B in Hurley, NY. It was the kind of property that I think about in my dreams – a charming, historic home beside a creek with plenty of surrounding woodlands.

 

Our room was spacious and cozy (it at times, felt bigger than our old apartment, ha!).

Groote Kamer at the Old Stone House (via http://www.hurleystonehouse.com/)

Groote Kamer at the Old Stone House (via http://www.hurleystonehouse.com/)

We completely gorged ourselves at Duo Bistro back in Kingston. The bread, butter and cocktails were divine and the cider brined pork chop was perfection! I would post pictures, but, I pretty much inhaled my food as soon as it arrived. Oops 🙂

The next morning, after a delicious breakfast from the innkeepers (and some great conversation with another couple also celebrating their anniversary that weekend), I took some time to enjoy the beautiful bright fall morning by relaxing outside near the Esopus Creek and exploring a bit more of the property. I love NYC, but sometimes, I require some alone time, preferably in a natural setting. Perhaps that’s why I try to find some opportunities several times a week to duck into a park 🙂

After visiting some of our favorite farm stores and shops in New Paltz, we finished our visit with a late lunch at Gunk Haus in Highland, NY, where we marveled over the magnificence that is glühwein. It’s everything you could possibly want in a cold weather drink – a bit of sweetness, a bit of spice, warmth and some alcohol. Heh 🙂 Even my husband loved it, and he’s not a big fan of red wine.  I am still wondering how on earth I’ve gone so long without trying it before. Yet again, we ate everything before we thought to take any photos. We see food, and we immediately eat it. That’s how we do, folks 😉

All in all, it was a wonderful, relaxing weekend, filled with great food and great sights. Looking forward to going back again soon!

One thought on “Fun in Fall – Anniversary Weekend in the Hudson Valley

Leave a Reply

