Summer Rewind – Exploring Brooklyn

Exlporing Brooklyn Photo

 

To finish off my “Summer Rewind” series, I’d like to recap what was by far, one of the most awesome aspects of this summer – getting the chance to get know my new home borough of Brooklyn even better.

My husband and I moved to Park Slope at the end of March of this year. Although we were excited, we were a little worried that it might be a big adjustment to make. We had been living in the West Village for 3 years (4 years total for me, since I was there 1 year before I met my husband), and we were super spoiled by the fact that we could both walk to work every day. Having the ability to do that is FANTASTIC, by the way! It’s an experience that I wish everyone could have at some point as it greatly reduces that amount of stress you experience on a day to day basis…but I digress 🙂

We loved it from the first day that we moved into our new apartment. With beautiful Prospect Park, the green markets at Grand Army Plaza and the Old Stone House, a bevy of bars, restaurants and shops, plus a bunch of other awesome neighborhood amenities (like archery, shuffleboard and rock climbing!), it was pretty easy to get acclimated! Not to mention, we’re now within walking distance of other great neighborhoods, like Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens, Boerum Hill, Fort Greene (pictured above), Prospect Heights and emerging Gowanus. Much of my free time on gorgeous sunny weekends was spent wandering around aimlessly on the lovely tree lined streets of these neighborhoods, admiring the beautiful brownstones and the incredible diversity of architectural styles.

And there is still sooo much more to explore – we’ve barely scratched the surface on trying out restaurants in Park Slope, let alone the surrounding ‘hoods. I’m glad we moved here, and I look forward to experiencing even more with the coming fall season.

 

Leave a Reply

